User login

Enter your username and password here in order to log in on the website:


18th meeting of Joint Committee for Measurement Standards:

31 March 2020, Kazakhstan



30th COOMET Comittee meeting:

1-2 April 2020, Kazakhstan

Redefinition of SI based units

The International system of Units (SI) includes seven base units: the metre, the kilogram, the second, the ampere, the kelvin, the mole, and the candela, forming a foundation around which cooperation and collaboration on a global scale can take place.

The SI units have been under constant improvement since the 17th Century when a committee of the French Academy of Sciences introduced the first unified measurement system based on the artefacts for the metre and the kilogram.

Recent advances have now enabled scientists to base the SI units entirely on fundamental properties of nature, which will ensure their ongoing refinement and improvement for years to come.

On 16 November 2018, four of the seven base units (the kilogram, kelvin, mole, and ampere) are redefined according to the decision of 26th General Conference on Weights and Measures (CGPM)

Last Update: 11.12.2019 | Disclaimer & Copyright | Print-Version
twitter facebook google