Woodington Award for Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Sommer

Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Sommer, one of the COOMET-Vice Presidents, has been awarded the Woodington Award for Professionalism in Metrology.


The Woodington Award, since its inception in 1978, has been an annual award under the aegis of the Measurement Science Conference. It is awarded by the Conference to recognize a member of the Measurement Community who represents the highest level of professionalism and dedication to the Metrology Profession. Candidates for the Woodington Award shall have exhibited noteworthy noteworthy Professional achievement in the Metrology Professional.

The Woodington is an annual award, sponsored as a memorial to the late Andrew J. Woodington. The Measurement Science Conference awards the Woodington to recognize a member of the measurement community who represents the highest level of professionalism and dedication to the metrology profession. Nominees for the Woodington Award have exhibited noteworthy professional achievement in the metrology field.


Nominees have warranted national or international recognition and acceptance as metrology professionals who consistently perform and conduct themselves with dedication, competence, and commitment, and who also inspire and enhance the professional status of others working in metrology. The areas of achievement and expertise demonstrated by the nominee are not restricted to technical, as managerial and administrative contributions are equally important.


Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Sommer is a Visiting Lecturer, Faculties Mechanical Engineering and Life Sciences, Braunschweig Technical University, and an Honorary Professor, Faculty of Engineering for Measurement Techniques, Friedrich-Alexander-University of Erlangen-Nuremberg.

His contributions to the metrological community have been significant throughout his career including leading roles in numerous international metrological organizations, scientific organizations and committees, advisory councils, and metrology accreditation bodies.

Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Sommer is the Vice-President of the EURO-ASIAN Cooperation of National Metrological Institutions (COOMET) and Chairperson of IMEKO TC 20 (Energy Measurement).

Last Update: 26.11.2021 | Disclaimer & Copyright | Print-Version
Bookmark Twitter Bookmark Facebook Bookmark Google+